Related Topic: “Good use for sidewalks”

“I have been following the saga of how to make cycling in this city safer for bicycles, cars, and pedestrians, and to me, the solution could be simple. Hundreds of miles of sidewalks in Winnipeg are grossly underused, particularly in residential areas, and which we all pay for with our tax dollars, even if we don’t use them. I do use them when I ride my bike.”

http://www.winnipegfreepress.com/opinion/letters_to_the_editor/good-use-for-sidewalks-263591311.html

What do you think, should pedestrians share sidewalks with bicycles? I’ll let you decide that well I give you an insight of my opinion of pedestrians and cyclists sharing the sidewalk. I like to think of myself as a cyclists and pedestrian at the same, not just because we all feel safer when separated from cars but because I face similar challenges of both party’s. I have to lookout for bikes and yield to pedestrians when driving my wheelchair and don’t mind if people ride on the sidewalk. As long as we are watching out for each other and not going to fast when passing by others. I know it’s illegal to ride bikes on the sidewalk, but why is that? I would think it would be ok as long as your not riding badly and besides if more people are using the sidewalks more often the more people notice the conditions of sidewalks & crosswalks!

Leave a comment