New Facebook Page Plus Thoughts of My Blogs Future

You may have notice I haven’t posted much lately with just a few posts in the last month or so. Well that’s because I created a Facebook page called Winnipeg Sidewalks Need Attention” two months ago and have been promoting my page ever since. I just have been thinking of how to schedule it: my thinking is do a blog post once or twice a week and Facebook post 4 to 6 posts a week. What do you, the readers think? Ultimately I want this blog to become something big so that’s why I decided to create “Winnipeg Sidewalk Need Attention” to bring in more people to wpgsidewalksneedattention.wordpress.com. My dream is to make this into a non-profit organization someday in the future but there’s only so much one blogger can do, For now I’m going to my best to spread my voice and other peoples voices of our concerns of sidewalks in the City of Winnipeg through this blog I started last June and it’s new Facebook page that started February 8th . You may wonder how I know so much about sidewalks? To begin with lets start with when growing up as a kid I became more aware of the importance of sidewalks because of becoming more and more depended of the use of a wheelchair. First it was using a scooter for long distances, and then not too long after that I was in a power wheelchair ever since. Over the years the bumps on the sidewalk were getting harder (I use to go down sidewalks without having to slowing down for bumbs but now I slow down almost for every one) for me to deal with during my high school years. I started going out more and more so I started noticing not only is sidewalks in my area has issues but citywide has sidewalks in much needed attention. I know every crack or bumb you name it that I drive on because I have to slow down quite a bit and have to really watch to prevent my tray or head rest from the slightest movement can make it a challenge time to time. During high school and even In elementary school I would on nice day always just wheel home from school instead of taking the school bus. 2013 was my last year of high school and I started an ambitious plan to drive my wheelchair as much as I can and far as possible. That year was just the start of my mission of wheelchair coverage around the city. With 2013 reaching 600+ kilometres by end of the season, 2014 smashed 2013 all together by double the distance of 1200 kilometres by the end of that season. How do I know that? I use Google Earth to save and plan where I’m going by using the path tools which shows the lengths of each route. Starting last year I have been using the Runkeeper app which uses GPS to track where you “Run” and tells you distance, duration, pace, etc. Also can export routes on to Google Earth… I can talk all day about that but nows not the time 🙂

1025612_10201845836841458_1934919533_o

2013 – First year that I decided to save every route for whole year. Mainly went down main streets

This year my main focus on my travels is going to down/covering more streets and plan on making a post summery of each day I go out and discuss issues I had and where sidewalks I find or notice with need of repair. Also point out where the good sidewalk are and my overall thoughts about my day. My chair at most goes about 20 kilometres in one charge but don’t go that far to often because I need power for other summer stuff that I enjoy doing! 🙂

2014M

2014 – The smashing record distance year, with double distances for May, June, July, September, October

In the end if I’m out and about in my chair, vehicle, or even on the computer/online I’m always looking with full awareness in my eye for Sidewalks that are in Need of Attention in our home Winnipeg. Just trying to make a difference with every post at a time 🙂


The link to Winnipeg Sidewalks Need Attention Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/wpgsidewalksneedattention Plan on adding a Facebook scroll bar with updates of the Facebook posts, have to learn how to do that. I already took a one year post-secondary / high school course to design and create websites with HTML and CSS code and other web related stuff. All Facebook things will be in the Facebook tab at the top: https://wpgsidewalksneedattention.wordpress.com/facebook/

Update: Figured out how to add scroll bar for Facebook as you probably saw on the sidebar so I decided to drop the page for Facebook related stuff.

Leave a comment